The great French cinematographer Pierre Lhomme laureate on the Golden Camera 300



The great French and World cinematographer Pierre Lhomme is the second laureate of the Golden Camera 300 for Lifetime Achievement at this year's 38th edition of the International Film Festival “Manaki Brothers”, which will be held from 23 to 30 September in Bitola.

This was announced today by the festival's director Blagoja Kunovski-Dore, who pointed out that with the awarding of the Golden Camera to this cinematographer, the Grand Club of the Manaki Brothers Festival will be rounded off.

- Pierre Lhomme is a legend of French and European cinema and the most important characteristic in the work of this cinematographer is his collaboration with the greatest names of French and World cinema, and his ability for adapting to their skill tastes. In his 40-year career, he has filmed some of the masterpieces of French cinematography, including the movie “Cyrano de Bergerac”. For his work, he received the European Film Academy Award for Best Cinematographer, then the French Oscar “Caesar” and many other awards.

At a press conference at the EU Info Center, the guest was the French Ambassador in Macedonia, Mr. Christian Thimonier, who had address on Macedonian language in which he expressed his satisfaction that one of the living giants of French cinema is this year's laureate of the festival “Manaki Brothers”.

The President of the Macedonian Film Professionals Association, Mr. Robert Naskov, informed that all the misunderstandings and dilemmas about the organization of the festival have been cleared. He also reported that the MFPA decided this year to award of the “Great Star” to “Vardar Film”, an institution that this year celebrates 70 years of existence. With this, the filmmakers are giving honor to all those who were employed and engaged in the most important institution for the development of the Macedonian film.

The artistic director of the festival, Ms. Gena Teodosievska, thanked the newly elected director of the Macedonian Film Agency, Mr. Gorjan Tozija for support to the festival and said that despite all the obstacles, organizational team of the festival this year will bring great films in all 14 festival programs, as well as large number of guests.

In the end, the director of the Festival, Mr. Kunovski, also announced the names of the five-member jury members who will decide on the Golden, Silver and Bronze Camera 300 awards at this year's festival. These are: Paul Rene Rostad, cinematographer from Norway and current president of IMAGO, the members: Luke Koasin, cinematographer from Italy, Jani - Petteri Passi cinematographer from Finland, Darijan Pejovski director from Macedonia and Erol Zubcevic, cinematographer from Bosnia And Herzegovina.